The 11th Grzegorz Fitelberg International Competition for Conductors​

Michał Nesterowicz

Michał Nesterowicz

In recent seasons Michał Nesterowicz has consolidated his position as one of the most recognizable Polish conductors in the world. The recognition of orchestral players, music lovers, and critics has led to engagements with the likes of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Gewandhausorchester, BBC Symphony Orchestra, The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Konzerthausorchester Berlin and the Tonkünstlerorchester in Vienna.

He is the winner of the Cadaqués Orchestra European Conducting Competition in 2008 and among the prizewinners of the sixth Grzegorz Fitelberg International Conducting Competition in Katowice.

Nesterowicz has appeared on multiple occasions with the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Münchner Philharmoniker, Orchestre Philharmonique de Nice, National Taiwan Symphony Orchestra, Singapore Symphony Orchestra and Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. He has also worked with the WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Gulbenkian Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Kyoto Symphony Orchestra, Copenhagen Philharmonic, Orchestre National Bordeaux Aquitaine and Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana.

He was the First Guest Conductor of Sinfonieorchester Basel (2016 – 2020), Chief Conductor of Orquesta Sinfónica de Tenerife (2012 – 2016), Artistic Director of Orquesta Sinfónica de Chile (2008 – 2012) and Artistic Director of Gdańsk Philharmonic (2004 – 2008). He is currently holding the position of principal guest conductor of the Arthur Rubinstein Philharmonic Orchestra in Łódź.

In 2022/23 Nesterowicz makes his debut with Taipei Symphony Orchestra and returns to Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, Aarhus Symphony Orchestra, Pacific Symphony as well as Warsaw Philharmonic. Other highlights of the upcoming season include engagements with Stuttgart Philharmonic, Orquesta Sinfonica de Galicia, Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, the Polish National Radio Orchestra, Turku Philharmonic Orchestra, Residentie Orkest the Hague, Phion the Dutch Philharmonic Orchestra and NOSPR Katowice.